Presidents Shield Awards

In 1955 a group of dedicated Norths supporters, led by the late Harry McKinnon, formed North Sydney Leagues Club. With the help of their families and debenture holders, they bought a house in Merlin Street, North Sydney, which was the Club’s first home. In July 1964 due to lack of space and the threat of the new expressway, Norths sadly left their beloved Merlin Street home and moved to Cammeray.

With a new building and a new look Sports Council headed by Fred Orreill and his active committee, new Intra Clubs were added (see for a current list). The first Sportsman of the Year Night, chosen from the Intra Clubs, was held in 1980, the winner for 1979 being Graham Hoschke, who was the Secretary of the Fishing Club.

Former norths Club President, Mr. Ray Beattie, renamed the ‘Sportsman of the Year’ award the ‘President’s Shield’.

The President’s Shield night is held annually in September and each intra club puts forward a nomination based on either their sporting achievements or service to sport over the preceding year.
The following members have been nominated for, or have won, the Presidents Shield Award.

The Presidents Shield function to celebrate 2017 was on Friday Sept 7th 2018
 2017 Nominee
Our current President Shield nominee is Con Constantinou.

Con has been a member of the Norths Squash Club for almost 20 years. Con has served on the norths Squash Club committee for several years mainly as Social Secretary and has also served as Treasurer. Con also worked at norths from 1999-2017 (almost 19 years)
Con has been playing squash with norths since 1999. He has been playing pennant most of this time and has 6 pennant wins with different teams. He has played Masters squash for 5 years and has 3 Masters team wins.
Con's team won the 2017 Autumn and 2017 Spring pennants. He has also represented Norths at a few Masters tournaments at Wyong, Cardiff and the A.C.T. and has proudly worn his norths shirt while playing.